Community foundation accepting scholarship applications

CONCORDIA, Kan.―The Community Foundation for Cloud County is now accepting scholarship applications for the 2024-2025 school year. The following nine scholarship funds are available to students in the Cloud County area:

  • C. Carl Cunningham Rotary Scholarship, for graduating Concordia High School seniors.
  • Carol Puckett Memorial Scholarship, for graduates of a Cloud County high school pursuing a major in education.
  • CF Sunshine Scholarship, for Graduating high school seniors or graduates from a Cloud County or Washington County, KS, high school majoring in either a medical, education, recognized trade field, or an agricultural field.
  • Cloud Ceramics Masonry Scholarship, for graduating high school seniors or graduates currently enrolled in a post-secondary masonry or building trades program in Kansas.
  • Gertrude Whitebread Scholarship, for graduating Concordia High School seniors attending Kansas State University.
  • Irene Saulnier Scholarship, for graduates of a Cloud County High School attending a Kansas accredited post-secondary school or first year vocational trade school.
  • Pauline and Richard A. Cook Family Scholarship, for a north-central Kansas sophomore in college attending Cloud County Community College, Fort Hays State University, Kansas State University, or the University of Kansas.
  • Wayne and Alberta Neel Scholarship, for college sophomores or above who are graduates of a Cloud County high school.
  • Wendy Ann Koch Memorial Scholarship, for graduating Clifton-Clyde High School seniors.

Students may also be eligible for the following scholarships available through our host Foundation, the Greater Salina Community Foundation or its other regional affiliates.

  • Alma Olson & Michael T. Olson Scholarship, for students attending or planning to attend North Central Kansas Technical College (Beloit or Hays campus) pursuing a building trade degree.
  • Coyne Family Scholarship, for first-generation college students whose parents are immigrants
  • Donald A. Smischny Educator Scholarship, for Kansas high school seniors, students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate programs, or current professionals pursuing a teaching career at USD 327 in Ellsworth, Kansas.
  • First Bank Kansas Scholarship, for Kansas Wesleyan University students pursuing a business degree
  • Hale Family Sunflower Promise Scholarship, for graduating community college students planning to attend a 4-year post-secondary institution in Kansas.
  • Jody & Doyle Fredrickson Nursing & Health Scholarship, for graduating seniors or graduates from a high school in the Dane G. Hansen Foundation service area who are pursuing a major in nursing or another health related field.
  • Kansas Federation of Republican Women Scholarship, for any Kansas registered Republican female college student entering at least her junior year or that is attending graduate school at a Kansas college or university with a declared major of Political Science, History, Public Administration, Healthcare, Law or Education.
  • Kurt Budke Scholarship, for students entering their sophomore year or above in college who plan on attending Louisiana Tech University, Oklahoma State University, Washburn University, or Wichita State University.
  • Mary Olson & Viola Olson Gustafson Scholarship, for students attending or planning to attend Cloud County Community College, Concordia, KS, to obtain a degree in nursing or a related medical field
  • Orpha J. & Ernest Milbradt Scholarship, for any Kansas graduating high school senior attending Kansas State University or the University of Kansas

All scholarship applications must be submitted through the foundation’s online scholarship portal by February 15, 2024. Scholarships will be awarded by mid-April. The application portal and scholarship guidelines can be found at

Last year, the community foundation awarded over $28,000 in scholarships to area students. For more information, please contact Brenda Gilliland, Executive Director, at 785-243-1008.